Eurasian Design Protection to Be Extended to Belarus

20 January 2022

The instrument of ratification by the Republic of Belarus of the Protocol on the Protection of Industrial Designs to the Eurasian Patent Convention was deposited with the WIPO on January 19, 2022. Accordingly, the Protocol will take effect for said state on April 19, 2022, within three months of the deposition.

As of today, the Eurasian design is protected in six out of eight member states: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Tajikistan.

Eurasian design patents granted based on applications filed starting April 19, 2022, will be valid in seven countries including Belarus.